MAE Undergraduate Education

The UC San Diego Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering has been consistently ranked in the top 20 programs in the nation by US News and World Report. In the March 2020 rankings, mechanical engineering at UC San Diego was ranked 17th in the country, and aerospace engineering 18th in the nation. 

The UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering was ranked #9 among all engineering schools in the country. The Jacobs School is first among all public engineering schools for research expenditures per faculty member, reflecting UC San Diego's leadership as a research university. Undergraduate students contribute to this research, working alongside graduate students and professors in world-class labs, breaking boundaries as they leverage engineering for the global good. 

All MAE programs of study have strong components in laboratory experimentation, numerical computation and engineering design. Design is covered throughout the curricula by open-ended homework problems, laboratory and computer courses which include student-initiated projects. This culminates in the senior design project courses, which involve teams of students working to solve real-world engineering design problems brought in from industry.


To provide our students with a strong technical education that will enable them to have successful careers as engineers, technology leaders and innovators.

To prepare our students for rapid technological change with the core knowledge central to assuring that they are able to further develop their knowledge and skills across a range of disciplines throughout their professional careers and pursue advanced education.

To prepare our students to communicate and work in teams effectively and to deal knowledgeably and ethically with the impact of technology in our society and on global issues. 


The B.S. degree in Aerospace Engineering is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET,

The B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET,